The economy is tough. Sometimes it’s hard to make ends meet, but the bills just don’t stop coming. It’s not unheard of (in fact, it’s probably more common than you think) for someone to write a check that they know is going to bounce. As Milwaukee worthless check defense attorneys, we’ve seen several cases like these – and it all comes down to whether or not you intended to cover it.
A Worthless Check Under Wisconsin Law
When you write a check, it’s assumed that you have the money in your bank account to pay for your purchase. Many of the worthless check cases we see have to do with paying bills, but some are cases where the individual wanted to make a purchase without actually paying for the item(s).
If you write a check knowing full well that it will bounce, and you have no intention of actually paying for the goods or services you’re getting in return for that check, you could be found guilty of writing a worthless check in the state of Wisconsin.
Two Classes of Worthless Checks
Writing a worthless check in Milwaukee can be a misdemeanor or a felony. The distinction lies in how much the check was written for; if it’s under $2,500, it’s a misdemeanor. If it’s over $2,500, it can be a felony. This doesn’t necessarily apply to only one check, though. If you write a series of bad checks over a 90-day period that total more than $2,500, you can be convicted of a felony.
What to Do if You’re Hit with Worthless Check Charges
The first thing you need to do is talk to a Milwaukee worthless check defense lawyer. Make sure you don’t write any more checks at this point! Your attorney will evaluate your case and determine whether you’re being charged with a misdemeanor or a felony offense, and then he or she will begin to build a defense that protects your rights.