When you get a ticket for a moving violation in Wisconsin, driver’s license points are assessed to your record – and if you accrue enough points, the state can suspend or revoke your driving privileges. So how can you tell how many points you have, and how many points you’re likely to accrue after a new ticket?
Wisconsin Driver’s License Points
If you receive a ticket, you don’t have to admit guilt – you can fight it. For many people, the best way to do that is to work with an experienced speeding ticket attorney in Wisconsin. Typically, attorneys can help you negotiate lower fines and demerit points, and in some cases, they’re able to make exchanges with judges (such as sending you to a driving course rather than having you pay the fines associated with your ticket).
If you simply accept the fines and fees and pay the ticket, you’re accepting responsibility. That’s when the state puts points on your driving record.
How Many Wisconsin Driver’s License Points Do You Get for Moving Violations?
The number of points the state adds to your record depends on the violation. Most violations result in two, three, four or six points. Check out the tables below to find out what violations result in each. (You can download a complete list here.)
Two- and Three-Point Offenses
|2||Parking on the highway in a traffic lane|
|2||Defective or repaired handlebars (motorcycle only)|
|2||More than two riders (motorcycle operator only)|
|2||No eye protection (motorcycle operator only)|
|3||Operating while privileges are suspended or revoked|
|3||Arterial or traffic control violations|
|3||Driving the wrong way on a one-way street|
|3||Failure to dim brights|
|3||Failure to signal properly|
|3||Following too closely|
|3||Improper brakes or lights|
|3||Operating with an expired license (or no license at all)|
|3||Operating with multiple licenses|
|3||Prohibited or illegal turns|
|3||Speeding 1 to 10 miles per hour over the limit|
|3||Violation of restriction|
|3||Possession of intoxicating beverage while operating, or being on duty time (commercial vehicle operators only)|
|3||Unlawful commercial motor vehicle license or endorsement|
Four- and Six-Point Violations
|4||Deviating from traffic lane|
|4||Driving on the wrong side of a highway or street|
|4||Failure to yield right-of-way|
|4||Failure to yield to an emergency vehicle|
|4||Imprudent driving, such as too fast for conditions or failure to keep control of the vehicle|
|4||Failure to stop for a school bus when red lights are flashing|
|4||Speeding 11 to 19 miles per hour over the limit|
|4||Speeding 15 to 19 miles per hour over the limit (commercial vehicles only)|
|6||Attempting to elude an officer|
|6||Failure to perform duty after an accident|
|6||Operating under the influence of an intoxicant or drugs|
|6||Reckless driving or racing|
|6||Speeding 20 miles per hour or more over the limit|
|6||Violation of occupational license|
|6||Operating while disqualified (commercial vehicles only)|
|6||Operating with an alcohol concentration between 0.04 and 0.08 while causing injury (commercial vehicles only)|
Have You Been Accused of a Moving Violation That Will Result in Wisconsin Driver’s License Points?
We may be able to help you fight a moving violation. Call us at 414-383-6700 to find out how today.