If you’re like many people in Milwaukee, Waukesha and the surrounding communities, you’re not sure about the differences between misdemeanor theft and felony theft in Wisconsin. Facing either of those charges is scary—and either could result in steep fines and time behind bars.
But what are the differences between misdemeanor theft and felony theft under Wisconsin law?
Felony Theft Charges in Milwaukee
The value of the property that you’re accused of taking determines the “severity” of the crime. If the property’s value is $2,501 or more, you’re facing a felony (anything less than that is a misdemeanor).
- Value: $2,501 to $5,000. If the property is valued between $2,501 and $5,000, you’re facing a Class I felony.
- Value: $5,001 to $10,000. If the property is valued between $5,001 and $10,000, the theft is a Class H felony.
- Value: $10,001 or more. If the property is valued at $10,001 or more, you’re facing a Class G felony charge.
Other cases that would ordinarily be misdemeanor thefts can become felonies, such as when the property stolen is a domestic animal or a firearm.
Finally, any theft, regardless of value, is a felony if the property was stolen from:
- Someone’s person
- A corpse
- A patient or resident of certain facilities or a vulnerable adult
- A building that was destroyed or left unoccupied because of physical disaster, riot, bombing or the proximity of battle
Do You Need a Felony Theft Defense Lawyer in Milwaukee?
If you’re being charged with felony theft in Milwaukee, Waukesha or the surrounding communities, it’s a good idea to get in touch with a felony theft defense lawyer as soon as possible. Call us at 414-383-6700; if it’s easier, get in touch with us online so we can give you a free case evaluation.