A hit and run conviction is serious – and you could end up spending time in prison over it. For most people charged with hit and run in Wisconsin, it’s a good idea to talk to an attorney who can develop a strategy that gets the best possible outcome.
What is Hit and Run in Wisconsin?
In the state of Wisconsin, a jury can convict you of hit and run if you:
- Operated a vehicle involved in an accident on a highway
- Knew the vehicle you operated was involved in an accident that involved a person or an attended vehicle
- Had an accident that resulted in someone’s injury or death, or damage to a vehicle
- Didn’t stop immediately at the scene of the accident (or return to it as soon as possible) and stay until you gave your name, address, and registration number to the injured party or showed your driver’s license to the injured party, or rendered assistance, or until the authorities arrived
What Are the Penalties for Hit and Run in Wisconsin?
If a jury convicts you of hit and run, you’re facing serious consequences. However, the consequences depend on the injuries the hit and run caused. For example, if your accident caused:
- Injury, but not great bodily harm, you could go to jail for up to 9 months and pay fines of up to $10,000
- Great bodily harm, you could go to prison for up to 15 years and pay fines of up to $50,000
- Death, you could go to prison for up to 25 years and pay fines of up to $100,000
This is why most people choose to consult with a criminal defense attorney after being charged with hit and run.
Related: Felony traffic offenses in Wisconsin
Do You Need Legal Advice About Hit and Run Charges in Wisconsin?
If you need legal advice, contact us online or you can call us at 414-383-6700 for your free consultation. We help people involved in hit and run accidents, drunk driving, and many other vehicle-related crimes, so call us today and find out how we can help you, too.