Punishment for Sexual Assault in Wisconsin - Carlos Gamino

By Carlos Gamino

If you’ve been accused of or charged with sexual assault, you need to know that the penalties are very severe. In fact, the maximum punishment for sexual assault in Wisconsin could put you in prison for up to 40 years with an additional 20 years of extended supervision.

Punishment for Sexual Assault in Wisconsin

The state of Wisconsin classifies sexual assault by degrees, ranging in severity from fourth (the least serious) to first (the most serious).

If you’re convicted, here are the punishments for sexual assault (by degree):

  • 1st-degree sexual assault, which is a Class B felony: Up to 40 years of initial confinement and 20 years of extended supervision, and Wisconsin sex offender registration
  • 2nd-degree sexual assault, which is a Class C felony: Up to 25 years of initial confinement and 15 years of extended supervision, a fine of up to $100,000, and Wisconsin sex offender registration
  • 3rd-degree sexual assault, which is a Class G felony: Up to 10 years of initial confinement and 5 years of extended supervision, a fine of up to $25,000, and Wisconsin sex offender registration
  • 4th-degree sexual assault, which is a Class A misdemeanor: Up to 9 months in jail and a fine of up to $10,000

Do You Need to Talk to a Lawyer About Sexual Assault Charges in Milwaukee?

Your sexual assault defense lawyer may be able to negotiate with the prosecutor (the state’s attorney) to lower your charges to a lesser offense, but this isn’t always possible – every case is different, and the state’s attorney may not be willing to negotiate in your case. He or she will also answer your questions about your charges and the possible outcomes of your case.

If you’ve been accused of sexual assault, call our sexual assault defense lawyers right away at 414-383-6700 for a free case review. We might be able to help you.

Carlos Gamino