But what are the penalties for a second DUI in Wisconsin?
Penalties for Second DUIs in Wisconsin
If you’ve previously been charged with and found guilty of DUI in Milwaukee, Waukesha or any other Wisconsin city, you’ll lose your driving privileges. You’re also facing hefty fines, which can range from $350 to over $1,100.
You’ll most likely be placed on probation and you could spend up to 6 months in jail, as well. The judge has to order you to attend an alcohol treatment program – it’s in the law, so there’s no getting around it – and you can be ordered to install (and pay for) an ignition interlock device for 12 to 18 months.
When the court is deciding on your sentence, the judge has to look at your driving record for the past 10 years. He or she will also evaluate whether:
- There was a child under the age of 16 in your vehicle at the time
- You were in an accident
- Someone was seriously injured or killed
If you received your second DUI while your driver’s license was already suspended, you’re guilty of another crime: operating while suspended or operating while revoked.
Do You Need to Talk to a Lawyer About a Second DUI Charge in Milwaukee?
The penalties for a second (or subsequent) DUI in Milwaukee, Waukesha and elsewhere in Wisconsin are serious, so for many people, it makes sense to talk to a local DUI lawyer for help.
Call us at 414-383-6700 for a free DUI case review. We may be able to help you through this difficult time.