What happens if you violate a restraining order in Wisconsin? It’s a serious crime – and you could end up going to jail and facing other consequences. Here’s what you need to know.
What if You Violate a Restraining Order in Wisconsin?
When the court issues a restraining order against you, it can be one of three types:
- A 72-hour no-contact order
- A temporary restraining order
- An injunction
Here’s a closer look at each.
The 72-Hour No-Contact Order
Usually, courts issue 72-hour no-contact orders after domestic violence incidents. It’s typically automatic – nobody has to request one in order for the court to order it.
A Temporary Restraining Order
A judicial officer can issue a temporary restraining order that gives an alleged crime victim some time to gather evidence to present to court. The terms of this type of restraining order dictate what you can – and can’t – do during the three days for which it’s valid.
Courts issue injunctions, which are more permanent restraining orders, when a judge finds that the person requesting protection through a restraining order has a valid need for protection.
What Are the Penalties if You Violate a Restraining Order?
If you violate a restraining order, the court can sentence you to up to 9 months in jail. The judge in your case can also order you to pay up to $1,000 in fines. Typically, the penalty the judge issues depends on how you violated the order. For example, if the order says you can’t come within 1,000 feet of a person but you’re arrested on his or her front porch, it looks like you blatantly ignored the court’s order – and the judge may hand down a harsher punishment than he or she would if you were arrested 999 feet away from that person’s front porch in someone else’s house.
Do You Need Advice After Violating a Restraining Order?
If you need an attorney’s advice after being accused of violating a restraining order, call us at 414-383-6700 or contact us online. We may be able to help you, so call us today.