Police are trained to get people to admit to crimes – but what would happen if you lied to a cop? Could you get into more trouble, or is there a good chance that they’d never be able to prove it? What if you lied to protect someone else, or if you gave a false confession because you believed it would make things easier or better?
What Happens if You Lie to Police in Wisconsin?
First things first: You can’t lie to police if you’re not talking to them… and that’s always what we advise. You should never speak to the police without first talking to your attorney.
However, if you do end up lying to the police – for any reason – they can charge you with obstructing. Under Wisconsin law, obstructing can involve knowingly giving false information or knowingly placing physical evidence with the intent to mislead the officer.
A Word on False Confessions
Giving a false confession can be catastrophic. If you give a false confession, it can be incredibly difficult to take it back – and you could find yourself in prison trying to win your way out. Do not give a false confession to police officers, no matter what they tell you. In fact, don’t confess to anything, even if it’s true. You should talk to an attorney about your situation before you discuss your case with law enforcement.
What Are the Penalties for Obstruction?
If you get caught lying to police, you’re likely to face a Class A misdemeanor. A Class A misdemeanor carries a penalty of up to 9 months in jail and up to $10,000 in fines.
Lying to police is only one type of obstruction. If the obstruction is physical and you cause harm to a police officer, it’s a felony – but that is not the type of obstruction we’re discussing here.
Do You Need to Talk to an Attorney About a False Confession or Being Caught Lying to Police?
If you need to talk to an attorney, we’re here to help. Call us at 414-383-6700 for a free consultation today.