Wisconsin law puts domestic violence in a special category of crime because it affects more than one in five women across the country.
The law considers a violent or threatening crime to be domestic violence or domestic abuse if the people involved:
- Live together
- Have one or more children together
- Have had a dating relationship of any duration within the past six months
Crimes that can fall under the umbrella of domestic abuse include:
- Sexual assault
- Violating a restraining order
After an Arrest for Domestic Violence
If you’re arrested for domestic abuse, the state of Wisconsin imposes a no-contact requirement. That means you’re required to stay away from the alleged victim’s residence (even if you live there as well) and avoid contact with the victim for 72 hours after the arrest.
You can’t go there to see your kids, you can’t go pick up your toothbrush and you can’t go there for any other reason, either.
If you do, you’ll end up in the back of a squad car on your way back to the police station.
The Penalties for a Domestic Violence Conviction
Crimes of domestic violence in Wisconsin carry serious penalties. In addition to the punishment for each conviction, you could face further punishment, such as:
- 9 months in jail and a fine of up to $10,000 for violating the 72-hour no-contact requirement
- 9 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000 for violating a restraining order or protective order
- A $100 domestic abuse surcharge if you are convicted of any domestic violence offense
Preventing Domestic Violence Before it Starts
In both the short-term and the long-term, it’s best for everyone involved for you to avoid domestic violence charges altogether.
It may not be easy, but in the end, controlling your anger is easier than dealing with the consequences of domestic violence charges. You can try to prevent things from spiraling out of control by removing yourself from the situation if you feel you’re reaching the boiling point. Take a short walk to get away from whatever is going on, and don’t come back until it’s no longer in the forefront of your mind.
Unfortunately, some people file domestic violence charges out of spite – even when no domestic violence has occurred.
Whether you have been involved in an altercation or the other party is flinging false accusations, you could benefit from talking to a Milwaukee criminal defense lawyer focusing on domestic violence charges. Your future is at stake, and with penalties like these, it’s not worth the gamble of trying to defend yourself.