It’s not uncommon for false allegations of domestic abuse to fly – especially during a hotly contested divorce.
So what should you do if your ex accuses you of domestic violence?
What to Do if Your Ex Accuses You of Domestic Violence
Even if you’re completely innocent of the charges, it’s important that you get in touch with a Wisconsin domestic violence defense attorney. Many people mistakenly believe that the charges will resolve themselves – but that’s simply not true.
Remember that police and investigators have one job, and that’s to catch the “bad guy.” When police read you your rights and tell you that anything you say can be used against you, they’re not kidding – so it’s best to wait for your attorney before you make any statements. This is true even if you‘re completely innocent.
Under Wisconsin law, a person who is arrested for domestic violence must stay away from the alleged victim for at least 72 hours. That means no going back for a change of clothes, no visiting your children, and no contact with your ex to attempt to straighten things out.
The Consequences of a Domestic Violence Charge in Wisconsin
Your Wisconsin domestic violence defense lawyer will be able to give you case-specific guidance, but you need to know that the consequences of a domestic violence conviction are very severe in Wisconsin.
You could even lose the right to visit your children during and after your divorce.
If you violate the no-contact order by contacting your ex during the mandatory 72-hour period, you could spend up to 9 months in jail and be fined up to $10,000.
Because domestic violence isn’t an actual criminal charge (it’s just the label attached to a number of crimes committed against a family member, cohabitant or significant other), the penalties you’re facing can vary. If you’re charged with battery, you could be facing a misdemeanor or felony. The consequences could include fines and a significant amount of jail time. Again, your lawyer will be able to give you case-specific advice.
Do You Need Help With a Domestic Violence Charge?
Call us at 414-383-6700 or get in touch with us online. We’ll be happy to give you a free case evaluation and come up with a strategy to get the best possible outcome in your case.