By Carlos Gamino
The state of Wisconsin classifies sexual assault based on the severity of the offense. When rape and domestic violence intersect, you are typically looking at second-degree or first-degree sexual assault charges. This can be true even if you are falsely accused of rape, which is why it’s extremely important that you work with a Milwaukee sex crime lawyer who understands how the law applies in your case.
Domestic Violence in Wisconsin
If the alleged victim is your spouse or former spouse, an adult that you live with or used to live with, or someone you share a child with, you could be charged with domestic violence.
If you are convicted of domestic violence involving force or a deadly weapon, or if you attempt to use force or threatened to use a deadly weapon, you will be permanently prohibited from receiving or possessing a firearm by the state of Wisconsin.
Potential Penalties for Domestic Violence and Rape
Rape in itself as a felony in the state of Wisconsin. If you’re convicted of second-degree sexual assault, it is a Class C felony, which carries a penalty of up to 40 years of imprisonment. You could also be fined up to $100,000, and you will have to register as a sex offender. First-degree sexual assault is a Class B felony, and it carries a penalty about to 60 years of imprisonment; if you’re convicted of first-degree sexual assault, you’ll have to register as a sex offender.
What to Do if You’re Arrested for Domestic Violence Leading to Rape
Before you answer any questions, even if you are innocent, it’s important that you talk to an attorney. Your lawyer will be there to ensure that the people interrogating you are not violating your legal rights. Remember, when police tell you that anything you say will be used against you in court, they mean it; in the most unfortunate cases, they may even take what you say out of context and use it aggressively against you in court.