When you’re charged with vehicular homicide in Wisconsin, it’s extremely scary. Under the law, it’s considered “homicide by negligent operation of vehicle,” and if you’re convicted of it, you’ll be facing serious penalties.
What Wisconsin Law Says About Vehicular Homicide
The law is very clear when it comes to homicide by the negligent operation of a vehicle, saying, “Whoever causes the death of another human being by the negligent operation or handling of a vehicle is guilty of a Class G felony.” This law also includes the death of an unborn child.
3 Things You Need to Know About Vehicular Homicide in Wisconsin
While every case is unique, you need to know three things about vehicular homicide under Wisconsin law:
1. Vehicular homicide can include any motor vehicle that is instrumental in someone’s death. That includes any vehicle that is designed to transport people and property on the road and is self-propelled, such as:
- Passenger vehicles
- Trucks (personal and commercial)
2. A vehicular homicide conviction is a Class G felony, which carries possible penalties of:
- Up to 10 years in prison
- A fine of up to $25,000
You could also be ordered to both serve time in prison and pay fines.
3. Other factors involved in a vehicular homicide can increase the penalties. If you have alcohol in your system, or if the homicide occurred during the delivery of a controlled substance, you could be subject to harsher penalties. Additionally, if children were in the vehicle at the time the homicide occurred, your charges could be increased and the penalties could be more severe.
What to Do if You’re Charged with Vehicular Homicide for Any Reason
No matter what the circumstances surrounding your arrest and charges, it’s important that you talk to an attorney who understands vehicular homicide laws in Wisconsin. Your lawyer will be able to preserve your rights and help ensure that you’re accurately represented in court.